Our Board

Our Board of Trustees is composed of active and caring leaders and professionals. The board is instrumental in building and maintaining relationships and acquiring support in the local community. You can reach the board by emailing board@youthbuildphilly.org.

Board of Trustees 2023-2024

Kiley Smith Kelly (Board Chair) (Executive Committee)
Principal
Ernst & Young
Kiley-board@youthbuildphilly.org

Carniesha Kwashie (Vice Chair) (Executive Committee)
Sr. Manager, Workforce Development, Corporate and Community Impact
PECO
Carniesha-board@youthbuildphilly.org

Whitney A.E. Arjun, Ed.D.
Director of Enrollment Management and Retention,
Penn State Abington
Whitney-board@youthbuildphilly.org

Maxwell Akuamoah-Boateng (Executive Committee)
Director of Operations
Community Schools
Maxwell-board@youthbuildphilly.org

Darrell Davis
Public Engagement Department
DoorDash
Darrel-board@youthbuildphilly.org

Charles Esser (Secretary)(Executive Committee)
Founder and Director
Philadelphia Community School
Charles-board@youthbuildphilly.org

Jared Farbman
Senior Strategy Analyst
Vanguard
Jared-board@youthbuildphilly.org

Erin McNamara Horvat
Senior Vice Provost for for Faculty Advancement and Undergraduate Affairs
Drexel University
Erin-board@youthbuildphilly.org

Scott Lillis (Treasurer) (Executive Committee)
Regional President
BNY Mellon Wealth Management
Scott-board@youthbuildphilly.org

Melanie McCottry (Executive Committee)
Chief of Staff & SVP, External Affairs and Communications
PGW
Melanie-board@youthbuildphilly.org

Alvin McLaughlin
Retail Regional Leader
Truist Bank
Alvin-board@youthbuildphilly.org

Ashley Pollard
Deputy Director of Implementation
City of Philadelphia
Ashley-board@youthbuildphilly.org

Alicia Smith
Chief Human Resources Officer
Planned Parenthood of Northern, Central, and Southern New Jersey
Alicia-board@youthbuildphilly.org

Jon Smollen
Independent Director
Astellas Pharma and Adjunct Faculty, Temple Law
Jon-Board@youthbuildphilly.org

Zachary Vigneault
Sales Consultant
Vanguard
Zachary-board@youthbuildphilly.org

Catie Wolfgang
Philadelphia Research and Policy Initiative
Pew Charitable Trusts
Catie-board@youthbuildphilly.org


Committee Members

The following currently serve on the Development Committee:

Maxwell Akuamoah-Boateng (Development Committee Chair)
Director of Operations, Community Schools

Whitney A.E. Arjun, Ed.D.
Director of Enrollment Management and Retention,
Penn State Abington

Catie Wolfgang
Philadelphia Research and Policy Initiative
Pew Charitable Trusts

Zachary Vigneault
Sales Consultant
Vanguard

Alvin McLaughlin
Retail Regional Leader
Truist Bank

Kaci Griffin (Non-Board Member)

The following currently serve on the Finance Committee:

Scott Lillis (Finance Committee Chair)
Regional President, BNY Mellon Wealth Management

Jared Farbman
Head of Portfolio Specialist, Vanguard

Jocie Dye (Non-Board Member)
Principal , Outsourcing, CLA

Mia Levine (Non-Board Member)
BSA Officer, TD Bank

Todd Marzolf (Non-Board Member)
Deals Transformation Manager, PwC

Michael McGuire (Non-Board Member)
Vice President, Johnson, Kendall & Johnson

Jon Smollen
Adjunct Faculty, Temple Law

Wayne W. Williams (Non-Board Member)
Assistant Professor, Fox School of Business, Temple University

The following currently serve on the Governance Committee:

Melanie McCottry (Governance Committee Chair)
VP, corporate communications & external affairs, PGW

Kiley Smith Kelly

Principal, Ernst & Young

Charles Esser
Founder and Director, Philadelphia Community School

Darrell Davis
Public Engagement Department, DoorDash

Alicia Smith
Chief Human Resources Officer, Planned Parenthood of Northern, Central, and Southern New Jersey

Program Liaisons:

Catie Wolfgang (Workforce Development)

Erin McNamara Horvat (Academic)

Friends of YouthBuild Philadelphia Board of Directors 2023-2024

Robert Totaro (Board Chair)
Founder and CEO, RCT Advisors

Marty Brigham (Board Secretary)
Attorney, Raynes & Lawn Trial Lawyers

Dr. David E. Thomas (Board Treasurer)
VP, Strategic Initiative & Community Engagement
Community College of Philadelphia

Melissa Jackson-Schmidt (Member)
Chief Program Officer
Campaign for Working Families

George Jenkins (Member)
GreenBuild Instructor
YouthBuild Philadelphia Charter School

Board of Trustees Meeting 2023-2024

Board Meetings

Note: Any updates to this calendar will be posted to the youthbuildphilly.org website at least 48 hours in advance.

All Board meetings are open to the public and will occur in person at YouthBuild as opposed to virtually from now on.

Please email board@youthbuildphilly.org to RSVP for a particular Board meeting and receive all the important details.

To submit written comments for consideration at an upcoming meeting, please contact board@youthbuildphilly.org with the subject line “Board Meeting Comments”

To receive a copy of Board minutes, please click the link to the meeting date below, or contact board@youthbuildphilly.org with the subject line “Board Meeting Minutes Request (Date of Meeting)”

Board Meeting Minutes

February 23, 2024 Download

April 16, 2024 Download

February 24, 2023 Download

June 9, 2023 Download

August 4, 2023 Download

October 13, 2023 Download

December 11, 2023 Download

December 16, 2022 Download

October 14, 2022 Download

August 5, 2022 Download

June 29, 2022 (Special Meeting) Download

June 3, 2022 Download

April 28, 2022 (Special Meeting) Download

February 25, 2022 Download

December 10, 2021 Download

October 15, 2021 Download

August 6, 2021 Download

Annual Board Meeting – June 4, 2021 Download

February 19, 2021 Download

December 11, 2020 Download

October 9, 2020 Download

August 7, 2020 Download

June 26, 2020 Download

Annual Board Meeting- June 5, 2020 Download

April 17, 2020 Download

February 21, 2020 Download

For more information, or if you would like to be placed on the agenda to comment at a meeting, please contact:

Kianna Cooper
Kcooper@youthbuildphilly.org

Make an investment in YouthBuild to support opportunities #TodayTomorrowandBeyond!

MAKE A GIFT TODAY
Footer